Ava

Ava

MEET AVA!

Status Medical Hold
Intake Type Owner Surrender
Intake Date 10/22/2022
Age 1 Year
Gender Female
Weight 47 lbs
Energy Level Low
Good w/ other dogs Yes
Good w/cats Yes
Good w/kids Yes
Object aggression None Noted
Special Needs See Bio
Medications Monthly Heartworm and Flea/Tick Preventative
Crate trained Unknown
House trained Yes
Adoption Fee $700

Hi there!  My name is Ava, and I’m so happy you’re here. 

My family purchased me at a pet shop when I was a young pup, and as it turned out, I was born with awful knees on my back legs. The surgery to fix them was very expensive, and my wonderful family didn’t have the resources to pay for it. I was in a lot of pain, so they made the tough decision to surrender me to the IBR because they loved me so much and wanted me to be pain-free. The IBR is fixing my knees so I will no longer be in pain and can live an everyday bulldog life once I’m healed. Hopefully this will allow me to run and play like a young dog should AND give me a long, happy life.

I am fully house-trained and get along great with my foster brother, who is a playful, energetic French Bulldog, and my foster sister, who is a crazy English Bulldog. I also love my other foster brother and sleep with him at night. He’s a cat, but don’t tell him, because he thinks he’s a dog! We don’t want to hurt his feelings, so we go along with it.

I don’t like to be left alone and would do best with a family that has a member who is at home most of the time. I’m pretty low energy and love to sleep in bed with my people if allowed. Cuddling is my favorite, and I want to be close to my person/people as much as possible. I will even watch TV with my head in your lap! You’ll be happy to know that I’m also pretty brilliant (if I do say so myself) and follow directions easily.

I have good manners, and don’t jump on people, so small children are safe with me. I seriously love children, and am always happy to let them pet and cuddle with me.  I’m also a great car rider, and love going “bye-bye.”

I enjoy chew toys, but stuffy toys will explode quickly around me. I love Nylabones and other tough chew toys because they keep me busy and entertain me for long periods. I do have a playful side and enjoy playing with my person. I know, “sit” and “stay,” and will give you a high five AND shake hands. 

Just so you know, I can be a little skittish around vacuum cleaners or things that make noise. I am shy when meeting new people too, but I warm up pretty quickly. I’m a good girl and so well-behaved. I’m not destructive and have never chewed anything I’m not supposed to in my foster home. Oh, and I love baths! It’s one of my most favorite things to do!

I have a deep tail pocket that needs to be cleaned & maintained regularly but has never gotten infected.

If you are looking for a best friend and the love of your life, I am the one for you.

image_pdf