Toby

Toby

MEET TOBY!

Status Medical Hold
Intake Type Owner Surrender
Intake Date 4/17/2021
Age 3 Months
Gender Male
Weight 22 lbs
Energy Level Medium
Good w/ other dogs Yes
Good w/cats Unknown
Good w/kids Yes
Object aggression None noted
Special Needs See Bio for More Info
Medications Monthly Heartworm and Flea/Tick Preventative
Crate trained Yes
House trained No (See Bio for More Info)
Adoption Fee $700

Hello to all of you out there in this great big world. My name is Toby! I’m a 2-month old bulldog/beagle mix and as cute as a button.

A good Samaritan saved me from an Amish breeder who was going to euthanize me due to a deformed rear leg. She contacted the IBR to ask for help and they agreed to take me in. My foster mom immediately took me into the vet and it was determined my rear left leg was so badly deformed, it was not surgically repairable, so they removed it. The good news is that I’m doing fantastic without it!

I came home from surgery, and was up and running around the yard with six other dogs, that very day.  I am a little wobbly and slower than the others, but I’m growing and acclimating every day.  My foster mom and the vet both told me I’d be fine and live a long, healthy life being a tripod.  I’m certainly going to prove them right. Since I am a mix breed, I won’t be as heavy or dense as a typical bulldog, therefore this should be a ‘walk’ in the park for me…pun intended.

My foster mom suspects I have never been inside a home before because I am nervous and fearful, unlike when I am outdoors.  I love it outside! She’s doing her best to show me inside the house is where all the magic happens, but I’ll figure it out with time.  I’m currently crate training and am quiet as a little church mouse when she puts me away for the night.  I am still a baby, so I need lots of naps and snuggles. She carries me out for potty time, because I’m still post-op and it’s a long way from my bed to the dog yard.  She allows me to come back in when I decide.  Considering I haven’t been inside a home previously and I am relearning to walk again, clearly I’m not housebroken quite yet, but I do not potty on my bed. I am holding it so housebreaking should be easy for me.

I will need a home that will be careful with my remaining back leg.  No stairs and no wild kids that might step on me. No hiking and other strenuous activities, but otherwise, I would make a great addition to almost any family.

If you are interested in learning more about me, please apply online and my foster mom will be in contact ASAP.  I’m being neutered on June 22nd and can join my family after that date.

Puppy kisses,

Toby

image_pdf