Todd

Todd

MEET TODD!

Status Adoption Ready
Intake Type Shelter Pull
Intake Date 3/11/2021
Age 6 Years
Gender Male
Weight 55 lbs
Energy Level Medium
Good w/ other dogs No
Good w/cats Yes
Good w/kids Yes (No Small Children)
Object aggression None noted
Special Needs None Noted
Medications Monthly Heartworm and Flea/Tick Preventative
Crate trained Yes
House trained Yes
Adoption Fee $500

Hello, I’m Todd! I’m handsome man with a husky build. I like walks in nature and belly rubs.

The true way to my heart is through my belly. Therefore, the perfect home for me would ideally make sure my tummy is full and my belly is rubbed often. Seriously, I will do about anything for a morsel of food.

The IBR rescued me from an animal shelter. It was a very scary place with lots of dogs barking and I was truly terrified. My foster home is currently trying to get to know me and is working hard to understand what makes me tick. So far, they know I tend to be a bit skittish and nervous during initial interactions, as I don’t trust people right away. I am timid, but once I get to know you and see that you are safe, and that you will be a gentle caring leader, I will warm right up to you.

I want a leader who will scratch my butt, cuddle, and watch Netflix or Hulu movies. Who doesn’t t want that, right? My foster family suspects that men have not been nice to me in my past, so I’ll need time, patience, and understanding before warming up to most men.

I’m a low to medium energy boy who loves walks in the park and around the neighborhood. I’m currently working on my waistline after gaining a few COVID pounds. If the weather is decent and I’m not being rushed, I can walk a full mile at a time. It helps clear my head, reduce my stress, and helps make me a good boy. I’d prefer a home that will continue my low to medium paced walks and feed me limited amounts of premium quality dog food.

My foster mom says I have an eating disorder, since I gobble down my food and don’t chew at all, so my forever home should provide me with a slow feeder bowl to assist me with this. I will eat anything and everything very quickly, so watch your fingers. I don’t mean to, but I tend to grab food quickly and may get your finger accidentally. I’m sorry, but I am getting better every day learning what “easy” means and taking food from my foster mom’s hand. She believes this is a correctable habit and that I’m smart enough to learn with the required patience and training.

I’m crate trained and will sleep in a crate at night. Once I get to know you and trust you, I would love to sleep in your bed, but not on the first day… I’m not that kind of dog.

I do tend to resource guard highly valued items. The highest valued item to me is food, so I have a bit of food aggression. I need to learn to “leave it.” I’ve not mastered this yet, but I’m working on it. I do not like other dogs. I can be friendly outside or while walking, but I suggest staying off my lawn and not bringing another dog in my house without securing me in a crate or a separate room. I don’t seem to mind cats though! Since I tend to resource guard my food, it’s probably best that I only have older children around.

If you’re interested, please be sure to reach out to my friends at the IBR and maybe submit an application!

image_pdf