Violet

Violet

MEET VIOLET!

Status Adoption Ready
Intake Type Shelter Pull
Intake Date 6/5/2021
Age 6 Years
Gender Female
Weight 47 lbs
Energy Level Low to Medium
Good w/ other dogs Yes (Prefers Low Energy/Submissive Dogs)
Good w/cats Unknown
Good w/kids Yes - Children 8 Years and Older
Object aggression Barrier Guarding of Baby Gates, Brooms/Mops/Vacuums, and Hoses
Special Needs None Noted
Medications Monthly Heartworm and Flea/Tick Preventative
Crate Trained Partially
House Trained Mostly (See Bio for More Info)
Adoption Fee $500

Hi, I’m Violet, and I’d like to tell you a little bit about myself. I’m an (estimated) 6-year-old bullie girl who landed in a shelter after a kind person found me wandering alone. I have definitely spent a lot of my former life having puppies, and it has taken its toll. The people at the shelter contacted Indiana Bulldog Rescue because they could see I needed some extra TLC, and my foster mom showed up to spring me.

When I first meet new people or experience new places, I can be kind of shy and nervous. I will back up to or press my side against a wall or piece of furniture, because I feel safe touching something solid. However, I’m really getting the hang of being a spoiled bullie diva princess and starting to show my sassy side. Getting snacks, cuddles, and playing with toys is simply awesome! My foster mom says seeing my little corkscrew tail wiggle is just the best.

Some of my favorite things are any kind of food, toys, my foster brother, soft blankets, and cuddling on the couch. My foster mom says I “don’t know how to dog” because I don’t really use normal play cues/behaviors. When I want to play with toys I will drop them in front of my foster brother and bark, commanding him to join me. Seems pretty clear in my opinion, but he just looks at me and doesn’t do what I say…Hmph! My foster mom will pick up my toy and throw it to chase, though, so that’s fun. My foster brother also doesn’t like it when I hump him, and my foster mom tells me I’m not supposed to do that. I am trying really hard to do as she asks, but I don’t understand why.

Some of my not so favorite things are getting my face folds cleaned, baby gates, the broom/mop, vacuum cleaner, hoses, and my foster sister. My foster mom thinks that I didn’t get a lot of human interaction and mainly lived in a kennel. I don’t like when she tries to sweep/mop the floor, and I try to attack spraying water outside and in the tub. I also tend to get upset with barriers that are temporarily put in my way like baby gates or closed doors. I am working on crate training to keep me safe when humans are away.  My foster sister is really anxious and gets loud sometimes, which I don’t like. I try to make her behave how I think she should by football tackling her, but for some reason she doesn’t listen, so we just end up arguing.

Like a lot of bulldogs I love food! My foster mom calls me the house hippo, because I make funny noises when I eat and I’m very messy. I was a little underweight when I first got to my foster home, but I have gained a few pounds and the vet says I am a healthy size now. My knees and hips are pretty wonky from having so many babies, so maintaining a healthy weight will be very important for me. Because of this, I move at my own pace. The word “hurry” is not in my vocabulary. I definitely have this stubborn bulldog thing down!

The vet said my ears and skin were really infected when I arrived and haven’t been cared for properly in the past. I get medicated baths, and my foster mom has to clean my wrinkles, feet, and ears regularly. I also take Benadryl daily, but would probably benefit from allergy testing and/or stronger prescription allergy treatment. She says it’s a good thing I’m cute because I am kind of high maintenance. I just tell her beauty like mine doesn’t come easy.

I am doing really well with this whole potty training thing, but it’s still a work in progress. My foster mom has been working to try and establish a schedule for me, but I am sometimes stubborn and don’t want to go out if I don’t feel like it.

I think when I review possible candidates for my forever family, I would be ok with having one or a couple laid back fur siblings who like to nap and aren’t too crazy. I haven’t been around children in my foster home, but I think I’d prefer with older ones who have been around dogs and understand how to respect my personal space. Since I can’t move all that well, I’d rather not have to go up and down a lot of stairs. I’m a homebody, so I’d love someone who is around a lot and likes to snuggle up with a good book or binge some Netflix.

If you have lots of patience, are looking for a sweet bullie girl with a little baggage, and think we could be good friends, please contact the IBR! Thanks for stopping by to read about me!

image_pdf